The Red Sea Gulf Of Aqaba

Today we are going to talk about the Gulf of Aqaba. The Gulf of Aqaba is known as a large bay on the northern tip of the Red Sea and in the Far East. The Gulf of Aqaba is divided into four countries: Israel, Egypt, Jordan, and Saudi Arabia. Covering an area of 239 square kilometers, this type of bay is the northeastern extension of the Red Sea. So let's gather a little bit about the Gulf of Aqaba.

Marine Life of Gulf Of Aqaba

This type of bay supports unique and diverse aquatic ecosystems. And the Gulf of Aqaba serves as an important habitat for some of the richest coral reefs in the world. The Gulf of Aqaba is home to 800 species of fish, more than 100 species of coral, as well as many species of crustaceans and mollusks.

In addition, some species of fish found in the Gulf include coral grouper, stonefish, rusty parrotfish, royal angelfish, blue stripe unicorn fish, crown butterfly fish, etc., and a variety of marine mammals, such as orangutans and dolphins. Shark fish are also found in the Gulf of Aqaba. Many marine reserves have been established on this type of bay. The Red Sea Marine Peace Park has been established by the Jordanian government on the shores of the Gulf.


The trade across the Red Sea between the port of Thebes at Eilat and the port of Elim at the head of the Gulf was documented at the beginning of the Fourth Egyptian Dynasty. In addition, campaigns with the Gulf of This have been documented during the reigns of the fifth, sixth, eleventh, twelfth and nineteenth Egyptian dynasties.

Located on the northern edge of the Gulf of Aqaba, the ancient city of Ayla was an important commercial center for the Arabs. The Gulf of Aqaba served as an Ottoman port and its battles during the WWI were an important decisive battle that helped end 500 years of Ottoman rule over the Greater Syria region.

City On The Gulf Of Aqaba

At the northern end of the Gulf of Aqaba are the three important cities of Eilat in Israel, Egypt and Aqaba in Jordan. Located on the Gulf of Aqaba, the city is a strategically important commercial port and popular resort for tourists who want to enjoy the warm atmosphere. It is also the largest Saudi Arabian city on the Gulf of Haql, south of the Gulf of Aqaba. The largest population center on this bay is Aqaba with a population of 108,000.

Where Is The Gulf of Aqaba?

The northern part of the Red Sea is divided by the Sinai Peninsula into the Gulf of Thessalonica in the east and the Gulf of Suez in the west. This type of Gulf of No is found on the southeastern coast of the Sinai Peninsula and on the west of the Arabian Peninsula.


This type of gulf is considered to be one of the most important tourist destinations in the world. About 250,000 dives are made annually by tourists on the long shores of Eilat’s in the Gulf of Aqaba. Diving and other recreational activities for tourists are found on the shores of this type of bay and which generates a lot of income and supports the livelihood in the coastal area. There are also some important ports along the Gulf of Aqaba. Dhahab is known as the only sanctuary with this type of bay.


This type of gulf is known to be an integral part of the East African Rift System. The Gulf of Aqaba is also formed by seismic activity along the Afro-Syrian reef. The Gulf of Aqaba extends from the northern part of the Red Sea. The Gulf of Aqaba reaches a maximum depth of 1,850 meters in its central area.

The Gulf of Aqaba measures 24 kilometers at its widest point and extends about 160 kilometers north of the Tiran Straits. The Gulf of Aqaba meets Israel, Egypt and Jordan. This type of gulf also serves as a connecting point between the continents of Asia and Africa. The Gulf of Aqaba is particularly rich in coral and other marine biodiversity.


This type of bay is known as one of the most popular diving destinations in the world. About 250,000 dives are made annually on the Gulf of Aqaba along Eilat's 11 km coastline. In addition, diving represents 10% of Gulf of Aqaba's tourism revenue. The landscape of Wadi Rum, east of the northern edge of the Gulf of Aqaba, is also known as a popular place for tourists to visit. Other sites in the Gulf of Aqaba are ruins of Ayla's Iron Age culture.

Important Settlements

Some of the largest cities on the northern tip of the Gulf include Taba, Israel and Jordan. The three cities near the Gulf of Aqaba serve as strategically important commercial ports as well as popular tourist destinations. Resorts such as Sharm el-Sheikh in the Gulf of Aqaba, just beyond the southern edge, and others are rapidly turning into major tourist destinations.

##txtlinkaffiliateads ##imagelinkaffiliateads

More in Travel