Endemic Species of India

Today we are going to talk about Endemic species of india. There are many endangered and endangered species of wild animals found in our country. These include the Sangai Deer at Keibul Lamjao National Park, the Asiatic Lion at Gir Forest National Park, the Nilgiri Tahr and the Lion Tailed Mack at the Western Ghats in India. The native wild animals of the Indian subcontinent are the great Indian rhinoceros and we also need to know about the endangered Ganges river dolphin, holocaust gibbon, chinkara, blackbuck, Saara hardwickii, Indian star tortoise, Indian bison, and rooftop tortoise of Assam. So let us collect a little more information about Endemic species of India.

Indigenous species are those that are found in only one area and that species is not found anywhere else in the world. Kangaroos, for example, are native to Australia and are not found anywhere in the world. Endemic species adapt to their surroundings, climate, habitat and other variations. Endemic species are specific to a specific geographical area.

1. Anaimalai Gliding Frog

Anaimalai Gliding Frog

The scientific name of Anaimalai Gliding Frog is Rhacophorus pseudomalabaricus. This type of frog is also known as two Anaimalai flying frogs. Anaimalai Gliding Frog is endemic to the Anaimalai Hills of Tamil Nadu. And the Anaimalai Gliding Frog is in danger of losing its habitat. Anaimalai Gliding Frog is a kind of "Flying Frog".

Anaimalai Gliding Frog can descend from the air. Anaimalai Gliding Frog mate on a vegetation hanging on a temporary pool. The natural habitat of the Anaimalai Gliding Frog is tropical moist montane forests and intermittent freshwater marshes.

2. Asiatic Lion

Asiatic Lion

The scientific name of the Asiatic Lion is Panthera leo persica. This type of lion is also known as Indian lion. Asiatic Lion is found in and around Gir Forest National Park in the state of Gujarat. The Asiatic Lion is known as one of the five largest cats in India. Asiatic Lions are listed as endangered species.

Historically, the Asiatic Lion inhabits many parts of western Asia and the Middle East to northern India. An estimated exercise estimated that 674 Asiatic lions live in the Gir forest area.

3. Bronzeback Vine Snake

Bronzeback Vine Snake

The scientific name of Bronzeback Vine Snake is Ahaetulla perroteti. The Bronzeback Vine Snake is commonly referred to as Perrotet's vine snake. This type of snake is found in the Western Ghats Bronze Strip, the grassland snake and the brass venomous are found in large numbers in the Nilgiri hills.

Bronzeback Vine Snake is a mildly toxic species. Bronzeback Vine Snake is a green color. The female species of this type of snake is dark brown to gray with a yellow venter.

4. Kashmir Stag

Kashmir Stag

The Scientific name of Kashmir Stag is Cervus elaphus hanglu. This animal is also known as Hangul. Kashmir Stag is known as the only species of Indian descent. Kashmir Stag is found in Dachigam National Park, Kashmir Valley of Jammu & Kashmir and Chamba in Himachal Pradesh.

Kashmir Stag is considered to be a subspecies of Kashmir dynasty. According to the 2019 census, there were only 237 Kashmir Stags in the area. The Kashmir Stag species is found to be slowly becoming extinct.

5. Lion Tailed Macaque

Lion Tailed Macaque

The scientific name of this animal is Macaca silenus. This type of animal is known as the endangered primate species of India. Lion Tailed Macaque is one of the rarest and most feared monkeys. Lion Tailed Macaque is found only in the Western Ghats of South India. The hair of this animal is black.

The outstanding characteristic of the Lion Tailed Macaque is considered silver-white. The hairless Lion Tailed Macaque has a black face. Lion Tailed Macaque has an estimated lifespan of 20 years.

6. Malabar Civet

Malabar Civet

The scientific name of Malabar Civet is Viverra civettina. This animal is also known as The Malabar large-spotted civet. Malabar Civet is found locally in the Western Ghats of India. Malabar Civet is the largest species of viverrid. This animal is nocturnal and Malabar Civet is listed as critically endangered.

Malabar Civet is known in Kerala as Kannan chandu and the male species is known as meru. Malabar Civet in Malayalam is known as veruk and in Karnataka as Mangala kutri, Bal kurti and Dodda punugina.

7. Namdapha Flying Squirrel

Namdapha Flying Squirrel

The scientific name of Namdapha Flying Squirrel is Biswamoyopterus biswasi. This type of squirrel is endemic to northeastern India. And Namdapha Flying Squirrel is found only in Namdapha National Park in Arunachal Pradesh.

Namdapha Flying Squirrel is an arboreal and nocturnal flying squirrel. Above the Namdapha Flying Squirrel is a white red and grizzled fur. The crown of the Namdapha Flying Squirrel is pale gray and its patagium is orange. Parts of the Namdapha Flying Squirrel are white.

8. Nilgiri Blue Robin

Nilgiri Blue Robin

Nilgiri Blue Robin's scientific name is Sholicola major. This type of bird is called white-bellied shortwing, Nilgiri shortwing, Nilgiri sholakili or rufous-bellied shortwing. The white-bellied shortwing is endangered and endemic in the Shola forest of South India.

The Nilgiri Blue Robin is a small pessary bird that can be seen in the grasslands of the Western Ghats at an altitude of just over 1200 meters. The Nilgiri Blue Robin is long-legged and looks chubby with a short tail and wings.

9. Nilgiri Tahr

Nilgiri Tahr

The Scientific name of Nilgiri Tahr is Nilgiritragus hylocrius. This type of animal is a species of wild sheep. Nilgiri Tahr is endangered and endemic to the Nilgiri Hills of the Western Ghats. Eucalyptus ibex is closely related to sheep. Nilgiri Tahr lives in the open montane grassland in Tamil Nadu and Kerala.

This animal is a stocky goat with short, coarse fur and brightly mane. Nilgiri Tahr is an adult male species that is larger and darker in color than the female. Both species of Nilgiri Tahr have curved horns.

10. Purple Frog

Purple Frog

The scientific name of Purple Frog is Nasikabatrachus sahyadrensis. This type of frog is found only in the rainforests of the Western Ghats of India. This type of Frog spends most of its life underground. The Purple Frog is a unique purple frog also known as a pignose frog.

Purple Frog belongs to the family Sooglossidae. The adult Purple Frog was formally described in October 2003. The body of the Purple Frog looks strong and erect and is relatively round compared to other more dorsoventrally flattened frogs.

11. Pygmy Hog

Pygmy Hog

The scientific name of Pygmy Hog is Porcula salvania. This type of animal is a critically endangered species of squid. Now Pygmy Hog is found only in Assam. The Pygmy Hog is known to be the youngest wild boar or the only member of the Piglets Porcula genus.

These animals also lived in the grasslands at an altitude of 300 m in the foothills of the Himalayas. The population of Pygmy Hog is estimated to be less than 250 mature individuals. Pygmy Hog has dark brown-black skin and black hair. Pygmy Hog is born in gray-pink.

12. Sangai Deer

Sangai Deer

The scientific name of Sangai Deer is Rucervus eldii eldii. This deer is also known as brow antlered deer. Sangai Deer is an endemic and endangered species of deer. Sangai Deer is found only in Keibul Lamjao National Park in Manipur. The National Park is a wetland located in the southern part of Lake Loktak. Sangai Deer is a medium-sized deer with distinctive antlers.

##txtlinkaffiliateads ##imagelinkaffiliateads

More in Nature