Top 12 Most Elegant Antelope Species in Africa

Today we are going to talk about African antelope. The largest species of antelope, deer, live in the Savanna meadows and rainforests of Africa. The most magnificent antelope species in the continent are Grant’s gazelle, Eland, Kudu, Nyala, Sable and Scimitar oryx, Gerenuk, Topi, Hartebeest, Lechwe, Bontebok and Bongo antelope. So let us gather some more information about African antelope.

Gemsbok's scientific name is Oryx gazella. This antelope is known as a large antelope in the genus Oryx of South Africa. Gemsbok Kaliyar lives in arid regions of South Africa like the Kalahari Desert. The current population of the Gemsbok antelope species is 373,000. This type of antelope is light brown to gray to tan in color. Gemsbok has muscular structures and shoulders. This antelope lacks darker patches at the base of the tail. Gemsbok has long, straight horns of antelope.

2. Bushbuck


The scientific name for Bushbuck is Tragelaphus sylvaticus. This antelope is generally known in its range. Bushbuck is a species of antelope in Sub-Saharan Africa. This type of antelope is the smallest species of antelope with spiral horns. Bushbuck antelope are found in the rainforests and bush savanna forest of Africa. The Bushbuck antelope is closely related to the Bongo antelope. The Bushbuck has a light brown coat with seven white stripes and a white splash on the sides.

3. Eland Antelope

Eland Antelope

The scientific name of Eland Antelope is Taurotragus oryx. This antelope is also known as southern eland. Eland Antelope lives in the savannah and plains found in East and South Africa. Eland Antelope is a species of the genus Bovidae and the genus Taurotragus. This type of antelope is also the largest species of antelope in the world. Eland Antelope is a herbivore and the diet of this type of antelope is mainly grass and leaves. Eland forms about 500 herds of Antelope on common islands. Eland Antelope avoids living in dense forests. This type of antelope uses loud bark, visual and stamping movements, and flehmen response to communicate and warn others of danger.

4. Hartebeest


Hartebeest's scientific name is Alcelaphus buselaphus. This antelope is also known as kongoni. The Hartebeest antelope is known as an African antelope. This antelope is a red fawn antelope. Hartebeest antelopes live in dry savannas, wooded meadows and open fields. This antelope is a popular sport and unusual bracket-shaped horned trophy animals. Hartebeest has typically elongated foreheads and oddly shaped horns, short necks and pointed ears. This type of antelope often has black markings on its legs.

5. Impala


The scientific name of Impala antelope is Aepyceros melampus. This antelope is a medium sized antelope. Impala antelope is found in East and South Africa. Impala antelope is similar to Grant's dexterity. The Impala antelope is known to be one of the most attractive antelopes in all of Africa. Impala antelope has a glossy reddish brown coat. The male of this type of antelope has long lyre-shaped horns. Impala antelope can be regional during the day mainly depending on the active climate and geography. The antelope's gestation period lasts six to seven months.

6. Nyala


The Scientific name of Nyala Antelope is Tragelaphus angasii. Nyala is a medium-sized antelope. Nyala antelope is a spiral horned cloth and this antelope is a native of South Africa. The Nyala antelope is known to be one of the most valuable game animals in Africa. This type of antelope is smaller than Kudu and the Nyala antelope is mainly active in the morning and afternoon. This type of antelope is a coat maroon or ruffus brown in adolescence then turns dark brown or slate gray and is mostly painted blue. Only male species of antelope have horns. The gestation period of this type of antelope is 220 days.

7. Greater Kudu

Greater Kudu

The Scientific name of Greater Kudu is Tragelaphus strepsiceros. This type of antelope is a woodland harp. Greater Kudu is found in East and South Africa. This type of antelope is known as the tallest and longest horned antelope in Africa. The Greater Kudu Blackbird is sparsely populated in most areas due to declining habitat, deforestation and hunting. This type of antelope is one of two species. Greater Kudu has a narrow body with long legs of antelope. And the coats of Greater Kudu range from brown to reddish brown. The head of this type of antelope is darker in color than the rest of the body.

8. Roan Antelope

Roan Antelope

The scientific name of Roan Antelope is Hippotragus equinus. Roan Antelope is known as the largest antelope in Africa. This type of antelope is the savanna antelope found in West and Central Africa. Roan Antelope is found mainly in woodland and meadows. Named for the red color of this type of antelope and they have lighter underbellies, white eyebrows and cheeks and black faces. Roan Antelope has a short, erect mane, a very light beard and a prominent red snout. The antlers of this type of antelope are rinsed. Roan Antelope arches slightly backwards. This antelope looks like sable green.

9. Sable Antelope

Sable Antelope

The scientific name of Sable Antelope is Hippotragus niger. This antelope inhabits the woods savanna in eastern and southern Africa with a distinct population from southern Kenya to South Africa and in Angola. The Sable Antelope is the national animal of Zimbabwe. And the Sable Antelope is considered a playground animal in Africa. This type of antelope is sexually endangered. Sable Antelope has a compact and strong build. Sable Antelope is characterized by thick neck and tough skin. The most common color of this type of antelope is chestnut rich in black.

10. Springbok


The scientific name of Springbok is Antidorcas marsupialis. The springbok antelope is a medium-sized animal. This type of antelope is found living in the arid lands of South-West Africa. The antelope species of jumping buck and gerenuk antelope may be closely related to Springbok. The Springbok is a light-brown coat with a white face, a dark stripe from eye to mouth, and a reddish-brown mark. This type of antelope is valuable for flesh and skin.

11. Thomson’s Gazelle

Thomsons Gazelle

The scientific name of Thomson’s gazelle is eudorcas thomsonii. This antelope is the most common type of gazelle in Africa. Thomson’s gazelle is the second fastest animal on earth. This type of antelope lives in the savannas meadows of Kenya, Tanzania and Africa. Thomson’s gazelle is sometimes referred to as the “tommie”. Thomson’s gazelle is considered a subspecies of the red-winged Gazelle. This type of antelope can be found in more than 550,000 species in Africa. Physical measurements show a decrease in the north-south parts of Thomson's gazelle range. The coat of this antelope is rough with sandy brown. Thomson’s gazelle has a speed of 80–90 km / h.

12. Waterbuck


The Scientific name of Waterbuck is Kobus ellipsiprymnus. The waterbuck is known as a giant antelope. The waterbuck antelope is found mostly near water bodies in the savanna of Africa and the Saharan is widely distributed in Africa. This type of antelope lives in meadows along rivers and lakes in South and East Africa. Waterbuck's coat is brown to brown in color. Waterbuck antelopes are long, spiral horns, present only on males and behind the curve. This type of antelope is not sedentary. The waterbuck antelope is an herbivorous animal that eats grass. The gestation period of this animal is seven to eight months.

##txtlinkaffiliateads ##imagelinkaffiliateads

More in Nature